By Fred Liggett

The 2017-18 season was the ninth season in Mavericks hockey history but the first one known as the Kansas City Mavericks. The year ended without a post-season berth but with a winning record at 34-32-4-2. The team finished sixth in the ECHL Central division, four points and two places out of a playoff berth for the second straight year.

On the ice the Mavericks and their fans saw lots of success from individual players. Leading goal scorer was Matt Robertson with 26 goals. Veteran Patch Alber was high assist man with 35. Mark Cooper led the team with 47 points. No surprise who led the team in penalty minutes as Tyler Elbrecht scored that honor easily with 155. Cooper was named the Mavericks team MVP in a vote by his teammates. Jared Van Warmer completed his rookie season as the ECHL’s leading scorer in power play goals with 14.

The first year of the Mavericks affiliation with the NHL’s Calgary Flames and AHL’s Stockton Heat saw six promising players join the Mavericks. Two promising goaltenders in Tyler Parsons and Mason McDonald played before Mavericks fans with an unlimited future. Speaking of goalies, the team used a franchise record seven netminders this season largely due to call ups and injuries.

The Mavericks now look to the future and have already formed a game plan that will be led by head coach John Scott-Dickson. Dickson on the job the past two years has signed a two year extension to oversee the team at least until 2020. The Mavericks will see a change in divisions once again as the ECHL has moved them back to the Mountain Division. Mavs fans will enjoy the fact the team will count traditional rivals Tulsa Oilers and Wichita Thunder as division rivals once again with this move. In the near future the team will set its protected player list. Before you know it the team will announce its 2018-19 season schedule which will be the franchise’s tenth year so expect many promotions and giveaways surrounding that anniversary. No matter what number of players used or the number of seasons it is the team’s fans will be cheering for another winning year.