March 12, 2022

The Raytown School District honored the dedicated service of its Board of Education members during the state-wide School Board Recognition Week observed March 6-12, 2022.

The goal of the week is to build awareness and understanding of the important function a board of education plays in communities and schools. As an elected official, a school board member serves as an advocate for the community by shaping the vision of a district’s educational programs and holding district staff accountable. Board members are recognized for their important contributions and their focus on the education of Missouri’s children.

2021-2022 Board of Education Members are Alonzo Burton, Board President; Beth Plank; Board Vice-President; Natalie Johnson-Berry, Director; Terry Landers, Director; Rick Moore, Director; Donna Peyton, Director; and Bobbie Saulsberry, Director.

Board of Education members were recognized at the Feb. 14 Board of Education meeting with a proclamation by Raytown Mayor Mike McDonough and at the Feb. 16 rivalry basketball game. Electronic sign boards in front of buildings around the District will also include a recognition message.

School Board Recognition Week is sponsored by the Missouri School Boards’ Association (MSBA).