Courtesy of Jackson County Legislature Office

April 8, 2023

By Jeanne Tucker
Hickman Mills C-1 School District

The Ruskin High School boys basketball team had the opportunity to be honored at the Jackson County Legislature meeting on Monday, Mar. 3, 2023.

The Honorable Ron McGee spoke and said, “Before I came to the Legislature, I had probably one of the greatest jobs. I was president of the Hickman Mills C-1 School District Board of Directors. We are honored to have Superintendent Mr. Yaw Obeng with us here today.”

“We do not often honor our young men for doing good things. That’s why we’re taking the opportunity today. So here’s a Resolution provided to the Ruskin boys basketball team. And it simply says, “The Jackson County Legislature wishes to celebrate the Ruskin boys basketball team. The Ruskin Eagles won the MSHSAA Class 5 – District 7 Champions (2nd District Championship in three years), on Monday night, March 6th. They played three high schools teams,” said Mr. Ron McGee.

The Ruskin High School boys basketball Eagles team won the Greater Kansas City Suburban Conference Blue Division Championship for the fourth year in a row. (Four-Peat).

After winning the District Championship title, Ruskin Eagles advanced to the Missouri State Playoff. The Ruskin High School boys basketball team is now ranked in the top eight high schools in the state of Missouri in their class.

Head coach Marcus Whitney and assistant coach Deron Hill and the Ruskin coaches staff were recognized for the success of the boys basketball team. Congratulations coaches! Ron McGee emphasized the fact that when you are involved with athletics, it takes a lot of hours working with the young men to help them be successful.

Head coach Marcus Whitney speaks, “I want to thank everybody for their support. There was only one returning Ruskin Eagle that was on the varsity team last year. These young men made a decision early in the year that they would be dedicated on the basketball court. Seven of these guys are graduating seniors. We will have a pretty new group next year. They will work just as hard as this group. Thank you for showing them that the classroom is important. We’re moving in the right direction. We have a new floor in our gym,”said head coach Marcus Whitney.

“Let me thank President Ron McGee and the legislatures honoring these young men. In June, last year these young men spent time in the gym all summer. They put in the work. They did what they needed to do to be on the basketball team.” They started believing in our challenge and paid attention to what we were teaching them.

“We have college coaches coming to talk to our kids. We are building a dynasty.”

“The more people that come to our games helps to create the atmosphere. We appreciate the community support,” said coach Whitney.

Mr. Yaw Obeng, superintendent of the Hickman Mills C-1 School District thanked the Chairperson and the council for honoring the young men. He spoke kindly of the boys being scholars in terms of athletics.

Odeng expressed special thanks to the new head coach Marcus Whitney and assistant coach Deron Hill. “This could not happen without them. Those of you who have kids involved in athletics know that it takes a lot of hard work, before school, after school and in the summer,” said superintendent Obeng.

Congratulations to these young men. Congratulations to head coach Marcus Whitney, assistant coach Deron Hill and the coaching staff.

A resolution was adopted on the third day of April, 2023.

Congratulations team!