May 11, 2024

By Fred Liggett

The Class 4, District 14 baseball tourney will be hosted by Summit Christian Academy where a total of five teams are entered in the event. The Eagles, 17-9-1, are the top seed and have a bye into the semifinal round. The Eagles will play the winner of Center/Southeast on Monday, May 13 at 5 p.m. The other semifinal game is already set between number two seed St. Michael’s and number three seed University Academy. The Guardians enter at 13-12. The championship game is scheduled for Tuesday, May 14 at 4:30 p.m. Should the Eagles and Guardians advance to the district title game it would mean the third game between the two in the last week. Summit Christian closed their regular season with a pair of games against St. Michaels on May 6 and 7. The Eagles lost the first game 3-2 and won the second game 14-1.

Lee’s Summit High School serves as the host of the Class 6, District 7 tournament. The event is a three-day, eight-team tourney that finds LS West Titans as the top seed, host Lee’s Summit at number three and LS North is the number six seed. The tourney will be played over three consecutive days with the first game set for Wednesday, May 15 at noon. The first pitch will find the top seeded Titans (25-9) up against the number eight seed Ruskin. The last game of the first round finds Lee’s Summit facing rival Lee’s Summit North. The Tigers enter post-season play at 21-14 while the Broncos are 10-22.The Tigers/Broncos game is approximately at 7:30 p.m. The top-seeded Titans’ last meeting with rival Lee’s Summit saw them claim a narrow 6-5 win. The Titans last meeting with rival LS North saw them win 16-0 at home.

Other first round games on Wednesday will be number four seed Truman (18-13) vs number five seed Rockhurst (9-20) at 2:30 p.m. At 5 p.m. it’s number two seed Ray-Pec (18-15) against number seven seed Fort Osage (10-16-1). All district tourney games will be played at East Trail Middle School. A pair of semifinal round games is slated for 3:30 p.m. and 6 p.m. on Thursday, May 16. The district title game is on Friday, May 17 at 5 p.m.