Eagle Scouts from left to right: Jack Williams, Eric Edson, Preston Talpers, Kyle Horton and Grant Hitchcock

On Sunday, November 18, 2018 Boy Scout Troop 42 held an Eagle Scout Court of Honor to recognize five new Eagle Scouts: Eric James Edson, Grant Joseph Hitchcock, Kyle Anthony Horton, Preston Alan Talpers and Jack Soley Williams.

Eagle Scout is the highest rank in Boy Scouts. It is quite an accomplishment considering that the Boy Scouts of America reports that only about 7% of young men who enter the Scouting program attain Eagle.

Alewel, Meyer, Mullen and Reilly have joined an elite group that includes Gerald Ford, Neil Armstrong and Steven Spielberg.

To attain the Eagle Scout rank a Scout must work his way through the first five ranks by learning skills such as camping, first aid, and personal fitness. He must earn a minimum of 21 merit badges, provide leadership to his troop, and plan and execute a community service project.

Additionally on the way to Eagle, a Scout has other opportunities for leadership and service. He can deepen his faith by earning his religious award. He may be called to join the Tribe of Mic-O-Say honor camping program or the Order of the Arrow national honor society.

All of this hard work preparing them to be tomorrow’s leaders.