November 27, 2021

Kris Baughman, Raytown C-2 School District Library Media Specialist for Eastwood Hills and Westridge Elementary Schools, was selected by the Missouri Association of School Librarians (MASL) to serve as president for the 2021-2022 term. Baughman began her role as president in July.

As part of her duties as president, Baughman shall ensure that any Council, Board, and Association matters are handled properly, including preparation of pre-meeting materials, Committee functioning, and recruitment and orientation of new Board members; prepare for and preside at all meetings of the Council, Board, and Association; ensure the effective action of the Council and Board in governing and supporting MASL, and oversee Council and Board affairs; review and revise, with the advice of the Council and consent of the Board, MASL Short- and Long- Range plans to assure continuity in planning and development of the Association; report all election results regarding candidates and other issues to the Association; appoint two Sitting Directors, with Board approval, to serve on the Executive Council, as outlined in the Constitution and By-laws; establish a Search and Selection Committee, and appoint the Committee Chair for hiring the Association Management; and perform all duties set forth in the MASL policies and procedures for this office.

Baughman has worked for the Raytown School District as an elementary library media specialist for 16 years. In 2018, she assumed the additional duty of elementary library services coordinator for the District. Previously, Baughman taught middle school and high school English and social studies and worked as Circulation Supervisor for Rockhurst University’s Greenlease Library.

During the 2020-2021 term, Baughman served at fist vice-president for MASL. She served as second vice-president during the 2019-2020 term.

Baughman has a Bachelor of Science in Education from Central Missouri State University (UCM) and a Master of Science in Library and Information Science from the University of Missouri-Columbia.