By Tribune Staff

The Lee’s Summit R-7 School Board met in its annual reorganization meeting April 12 and approved the April 3 election results in which incumbent Julie Doane was reelected and Ryan Murdock was elected to the board.

Incumbent Adam Rutherford did not seek reelection to the board of education. He was recognized for his service from 2015 to 2018. Rutherford plans to spend more time with his family and additional work responsibilities.

In other board action, Phyllis Balagna, who has been a member of the LSR7 Board of Education for more than seven years and is its longest serving current member, was elected president after President Bob White chose not to seek reelection to another term.

Balagna is a lifelong Lee’s Summit resident and a local business owner for nearly 30 years. She is an alumna of Lee’s Summit High School and is in its Hall of Fame. Early in her career, Balagna taught in the Lee’s Summit School District. Balagna’s leadership roles include service as a founder of the district’s Business Roundtable, vice president of the Lee’s Summit Chamber and chair of the chamber’s Education Committee.

“It is an honor to be elected by my colleagues as board president. I look forward to working with my predecessor, Bob White, and Jackie Clark as we lead the board,” said Balagna.

Nominations for vice president were made for Jacqueline Clark and Julie Doane. Clark was elected to the position.

Clark is a Lee’s Summit High School alumna and a past member of the Community Advisory Committee. In her board service, she has led the district’s government relations committee and district engagement with the local legislative delegation and state legislative leaders, including a successful legislative day earlier this year. Clark has been engaged in non-profit organizations, chambers of commerce and private sector businesses for over 30 years.

“I appreciate the opportunity to serve the district in a board leadership role,” Clark said.