Lee’s Summit R-7 School District students named National Merit Scholarship Corporation finalists are Joshua Foster, Alex Geoghegan and Maggie O’Connor, all from Lee’s Summit West High School.

The students were named National Merit Scholarship Corporation semifinalists last fall.

National Merit Scholarship Corporation Finalists








Joshua Foster is the son of Susan Foster and Kevin Foster. At Lee’s Summit West High School, Joshua participates in Symphony Orchestra, Chess Club, robotics, Scholar Bowl, Science Bowl, Spanish Honor Society and is an International Baccalaureate Diploma candidate.

Alex Geoghegan is the son of Laura Geoghegan and Sean Geoghegan. At Lee’s Summit West High School, Alex participates in cross country, track, Una Voce Choir, concert choir, Missouri Scholars Academy and is an IB Diploma candidate. He also scored a perfect 36 on the ACT college admissions exam.

Maggie O’Connor is the daughter of Katie Prevost-O’Connor and Brian O’Connor. At Lee’s Summit West High School, Maggie serves as debate co-president and was elected Youth in Government Clark State Convention governor, Spanish Honor Society president and National Honor Society officer. She is a member of Kindness Council, Titan Ambassadors and Student Senate. She is also an IB Diploma candidate and was selected for Missouri Scholars Academy. ?

Recognized students have the opportunity to continue in the competition for approximately 8,200 National Merit Scholarship Awards, worth close to $33 million, to be offered this spring. There are approximately 15,000 finalists throughout the United States.

Founded in 1955 to conduct the annual Merit Scholarship competition, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation is a privately financed, not-for-profit corporation that operates without government assistance. Scholarships awarded through the program are underwritten by nearly 500 independent sponsor organizations and institutions as well as with the corporation’s own funds.

Nearly 1.5 million students throughout the United States entered the 2018 Merit Program as juniors by taking the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screen of program entrants.