Feb. 16, 2019

The National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) honored six female students from Lee’s Summit High School, Lee’s Summit West, Lee’s Summit North and Summit Technology Academy. These young women were recognized within a group of 41 area high school students at an award ceremony Friday, February 8, 2019, at the Kauffman Center.

“With technology jobs projected to grow faster than all other job sectors in the next decade, it’s imperative that we nurture the computing aspirations of women, who will make up half the professional workforce,” said Lucy Sanders, CEO and Co-founder of NCWIT.

The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing acknowledges winners for their outstanding aptitude and interest in technology and computing, leadership ability, academic history and plans for post-secondary education. The LSR7 2019 winners of the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing – Western Missouri and Kansas Affiliate are: Aamna Khan, STA, Award Winner; Zoey Sears, LSHS, Award Winner; Shelby Soukup, LSN, Award Winner; Lailah Weatherspoon, LSHS, Award Winner; Katie Dustin, LSHS, Honorable Mention; and Sydney Trull, LSW, Rising Star

NCWIT, a non-profit coalition of more than 450 corporations, academic institutions, government agencies, and nonprofits, seeks to improve U.S. innovation, competitiveness and workforce sustainability by increasing women’s participation in IT. NCWIT, NetApp of Wichita and Northwest Missouri State University will recognize the award winners as part of an effort to encourage more young women to choose careers in technology.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  • Connie Howe

    March 15, 2019 - 1:40 pm

    Congrats Sydney!! You are such an awesome young lady.

Comments are closed.