Local Mayors to Honor Community Volunteers on September 28th Mayors of Blue Springs, Grain Valley, Independence, Lake Tapawingo, Lee’s Summit, Raytown, and Sugar Creek select Citizens of the Year EASTERN JACKSON COUNTY, MO. (August 5, 2019) Truman Heartland Community Foundation is pleased to present this year’s Citizen of the Year honorees, selected by area mayors. The recipients will be recognized at the 24th Annual Toast to Our Towns Gala, presented by Speaks Chapels, on Saturday, September 28, 2019 at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. These local volunteers were chosen because they lend their time, talents and position to promote our communities. Areas of impact are varied, but all of the honorees are united by a common goal, improving and enriching the communities in our area.

Mayor Michael McDonough, City of Raytown, Recognizes Vicki Turnbow Vicki Turnbow promotes the Raytown community each day as President of the Raytown Area Chamber of Commerce and Tourism. She goes above and beyond her position, providing support to the Raytown Main Street Association, Raytown Quality Schools Citizens Advisory Committee, Raytown Live Committee, Community Emergency Response Team and serving as a Trustee of the Raytown Education Foundation Board. Vicki is an active member of the Raytown Rotary Club and was recognized by Rotary as a Paul Harris Fellow. She has helped plan and execute many charitable events for Rotary and other organizations over the years. Vicki leads the annual Raytown Rotary/Chamber Golf Tournament, is spearheading the Chamber’s 90th year celebration and has worked on the Deron Cherry Invitational Golf Tournament, a fundraiser for Raytown’s Score One for Health program, since the early 1990s. In 2012, the Raytown Women of Today awarded Vicki with its coveted Outstanding Woman Leader award. Vicki grew up in Raytown. Her husband Kris is a former Raytown Police Chief and currently serves as the Mayor of Raymore. In addition to her role as the first lady, Vicki devotes time to their four children and seven grandchildren. The Raytown Chamber Board of Directors congratulates all the recipients of this year’s “Citizen of the Year” honors from the other communities. Truman Heartland Community Foundation is a great community partner and the Chamber appreciates their continued promotion of our communities with which we live and work.