April 20, 2024

The 2024 Chamber of Commerce Excellence in Teaching Awards Reception and the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District Support Professional Excellence Awards ceremony was held on April 17 at Lee’s Summit High School.

They were able to celebrate all 21 exceptional teachers and support professionals with their guests.

Jennifer Jones, ELA Teacher at Lee’s Summit West, has been named the LSR7 2024 Teacher of the Year. Jones has been teaching in the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District for the past 19 years. She is a teacher consultant for the Greater Kansas City Writing Project, which is a professional organization of K-University instructors engaged in professional book studies. Jones also volunteers for two arts organizations, the CAPPIES and the Black Box Theater. During her tenure, Jones has presented for the National Council of Teachers of English on bringing students together. She has led workshops for the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education on essay organization and blended writing.

The 2024 Support Professional of the Year was also named at the ceremony. Congratulations to Tihani Petersen, a dedicated bus driver of three years for the LSR7 school district. Petersen started as a bus aide and has worked as a driver after getting her CDL license. Her warm and genuine greetings bring joy and care to the students on her routes, especially the students of Meadow Lane Elementary. She sends students off to school with a positive attitude and makes them feel valued.

Show Comments