Governor Mike Parson today announced two new appointments to the Missouri Housing Development Commission: Mark Elliff of Carthage and Rick McDowell of Parkville. The Governor also called upon the Missouri General Assembly to assemble working groups to prioritize tax credit reform legislation for the next legislative session.

“We are confident in the legislature’s ability to develop tax credit reforms that address housing needs, while ensuring greater accountability and an increased return on the investment of taxpayer dollars,” said Governor Mike Parson. “As a member of the Commission, I am committed to considering current federal tax credit applications, but until substantial reforms are enacted, state tax credits will not be issued.”

Mark Elliff, of Carthage, is the President/CEO and Director of Economic Development at Carthage Chamber of Commerce. Elliff holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Missouri Southern State University. He is a member of the Carthage Rotary Club, Community Support Services, and the McCune Brooks Health Care Foundation.

Rick McDowell, President and CEO

Rick McDowell, of Parkville, is the President and CEO of Lee’s Summit Economic Development Council. McDowell was previously the Executive Director at the Liberty Economic Development Corporation and has more than 27 years of experience working in economic development. He holds a bachelor’s degree in business and finance from Missouri State University and is a licensed realtor. He is a member of the Missouri Economic Development Council, Rotary Club, International Economic Development Council, and the Eastern Jackson County Alliance.

About the Missouri Housing Development Commission

The Missouri Housing Development Commission (MHDC) was created in 1969 by the General Assembly. MHDC administers and provides financing for the construction of affordable housing. The Commission also provides funding for home loans to qualified, first-time buyers through a network of certified, private mortgage lenders. Mortgage financing is facilitated through the sale of mortgage-backed securities and through the sale of tax-exempt bonds that the Commission is authorized to issue.

The Commission administers the federal and Missouri Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) programs, the Affordable Housing Assistance Program Tax Credit (AHAP), federal HOME funds, and the direct funding of several housing assistance programs. Further, the Commission administers homeless assistance funds for permanent housing in an effort to end homelessness in Missouri. The Commission also provides advisory, consultative training, and educational services to non-profit housing organizations.

The Commission includes the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Attorney General, and six persons appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.