Sept. 24, 2019

By Valerie Hartman
Public Information Officer

The Kansas City, Missouri Municipal Judicial Nominating Commission of the 16th Judicial Circuit selected a panel of three nominees today for the judicial opening created by the recent retirement of Judge Joseph H. Locascio of Division 202.

Ten attorneys submitted applications and were interviewed in a meeting open to the public.

The Commission selected the following panel:
*Theresa E. Crayon, Chief Trial Assistant, Jackson County Prosecutor’s Office
*Michael C. Heffernon, Assistant Prosecutor, Kansas City, Missouri Municipal Court
*Gina L. Simone, Attorney in Private Practice

The Commission will submit the panel to the Kansas City, Missouri City Council which will interview the nominees and appoint a new judge.
Judicial openings on the Kansas City Municipal Court are filled in accordance with the State of Missouri’s Nonpartisan Court Plan. The City Council has 60 days to appoint one of the nominees. After serving one year in office, the judge will come before the voters in a retention election.

The Kansas City Municipal Judicial Nominating Commission is chaired by Presiding Judge David M. Byrn of the 16th Circuit Court, and is comprised of attorneys John H. Hager and Christopher Korth, and lay members Rosa M. James and Vincent Ortega.