United States Representative Emanuel Cleaver, II (D-MO), along with Reps. Sam Graves (R-MO) and Sharice Davids (D-KS) introduced a House Resolution recognizing the Kansas City Chiefs for their victory in Super Bowl LIV over the San Francisco 49ers.

“I’m so incredibly proud of this year’s team and their unrelenting desire to bring the Lombardi Trophy back to Kansas City after 50 long years,” said Congressman Emanuel Cleaver. “As a lifelong Chiefs fan who has had his heart broken a time or two, it’s difficult to put into words how special this season has been for our great city. It wasn’t always pretty, and it certainly wasn’t easy, but the people of Kansas City wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. I know Patrick Mahomes must be getting used to having his name written into record books, but he can now add the Congressional Record Book to the list. On behalf of Kansas City, Missouri, thank you for the magical run.”

“50 years in the making, this is a huge moment for all Kansas City Chiefs fans. Their incredible 4th quarter comeback—driven by grit, determination and faith—truly made Kansas City and Chiefs Kingdom proud. It’s an honor to recognize them in Congress on their outstanding season and Super Bowl victory,” said Rep. Sam Graves.

“It’s been an incredible season for Kansas City – made even better by our hard-won victory on Super Bowl Sunday. I’m glad to join my colleagues on both sides of the state line in recognizing this special team,” said Rep. Sharice Davids.

Following is the text of the resolution, PDF available here.

Congratulating the Kansas City Chiefs on their victory in Super Bowl LIV.
IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES Mr. CLEAVER submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the
Committee on

Congratulating the Kansas City Chiefs on their victory in Super Bowl LIV.

Whereas, on February 2, 2020, the Kansas City Chiefs defeated the San Francisco 49ers by a score of 31 to 20, winning Super Bowl LIV at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida;

Whereas this accomplishment marked the first Super Bowl championship for the Kansas City Chiefs since their last appearance 50 years ago in Super Bowl IV;

Whereas quarterback Patrick Mahomes became only the third Black starting quarterback to win a Super Bowl as well as the youngest to have won both the Super Bowl and the National Football League Most Valuable Player Award (MVP);

Whereas quarterback Patrick Mahomes became the youngest quarterback to be named Super Bowl MVP and third youngest player of any position to achieve this honor;

Whereas running back Damien Williams delivered 133 total yards, including a 38-yard touchdown run and a 5-yard touchdown catch, tying the Super Bowl record for most touchdowns in a single quarter;

Whereas new hope was breathed into the team after wide receiver Tyreek Hill caught a 44-yard pass during an 83- yard drive that ended with tight end Travis Kelce catching a touchdown pass with only 6 minutes and 13 seconds remaining;

Whereas the Kansas City Chiefs overcame a 10-point deficit with less than 7 minutes left to win the game, becoming the first team in the history of the National Football League (NFL) to trail each postseason game by 10 or more points and still overcome the odds to win each of the 3 games;

Whereas their 21 points scored in the fourth quarter tied a Super Bowl record and was complemented by a powerful defense that continued to stop the San Francisco 49ers offense and allow for the comeback victory to occur;

Whereas this was the 222d win for head coach Andy Reid in his NFL coaching history, a record for most wins before capturing his first championship;

Whereas each of the 53 players on the roster deserves recognition, including Nick Allegretti, Jackson Barton, Blake Bell, Bashaud Breeland, Alex Brown, Harrison Butker, Morris Claiborne, Frank Clark, Dustin Colquitt, Laurent Duvernay-Tardif, Cam Erving, Rashad Fenton, Eric Fisher, Kendall Fuller, Mecole Hardman, Demone Harris, Chad Henne, Tyreek Hill, Anthony Hitchens, Ryan Hunter, Chris Jones, Travis Kelce, Tanoh Kpassagnon, Darron Lee, Jordan Lucas, Patrick Mahomes, Tyrann Mathieu, LeSean McCoy, Matt Moore, Ben Niemann, Derrick Nnadi, Dorian O’Daniel, Mike Pennel, Byron Pringle, Reggie Ragland, Austin Reiter, Demarcus Robinson, Khalen Saunders, Mitchell Schwartz, Anthony Sherman, Daniel Sorensen, Terrell Suggs, Darwin Thompson, Charvarius Ward, Sammy Watkins, Armani Watts, Damien Williams, Xavier Williams, Damien Wilson, James Winchester, Stefen Wisniewski, Andrew Wylie, and Deon Yelder;

Whereas the Kansas City Chiefs continue to be the pride of Missouri by bringing the Vince Lombardi Trophy home to the great citizens of Kansas City; and

Whereas this victory was an incredible and overdue honor for the players, coaches, and staff of the Kansas City Chiefs, as well as the fans of the team in Missouri, the rest of the country, and around the world: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives congratulates and honors the Kansas City Chiefs on their inspiring win in Super Bowl LIV.