July 8, 2023

Captain Steven V. Wilhoit, commanding officer of Troop A, Lee’s Summit, announces the following transfer effective July 2, 2023: Corporal Justin C. Ewing, previously assigned to Zone 3, serving the citizens of Clay County, has transferred to Troop A Headquarters and will serve as one of the troop’s two public information officers.

Ewing, formerly of Springfield, MO, was appointed to the Patrol on July 1, 2013, as a member of the 97th Recruit Class. After completing training at the Patrol’s Law Enforcement Academy, he was assigned to Troop A, Zone 11, serving Cass County. He was promoted to the rank of corporal and designated as the assistant zone supervisor of Zone 3, Clay County, in June 2020. He served on Troop A SWAT team as a crisis negotiator for nearly five years.

Ewing graduated from Kickappo High School in Springfield, MO, in 2009. Ewing earned a Bachelor of Science in psychology and criminal justice from Southwest Baptist University, in Bolivar, MO, in 2013. Cpl. Ewing is married to Amanda (Ell), and they have two children.

Follow the Missouri State Highway Patrol Troop A on Twitter, @MSHPTrooperA, for the latest information about Troop A.